Team Member #1 – Rasmus Bonde Greis

Rasmus

Who are you?

My name is Rasmus Bonde Greis, I am 24 years old and I’m at my first year of my master’s program in FSM and CEMS MIM.

I will be competing in the Sciences Po International Tasting with CBS Wine.

Describe your motivation to become part of the CBS Wine competition team?

Well, I have followed CBS Wine since the foundation, participated in many of their tastings, wine festivals etc. Wine is my big passion and I was on from the moment I saw that CBS Wine were looking for a new member of the tasting team.

I feel that I can contribute with my wine knowledge and tasting skills to the team, so I submitted my application straight away.

What is your field of expertise in the competition?

I see myself as a all round taster, with a broad knowledge about grapes and regions from all over the world, which also is needed for the SPIT competition.

Many of the other team members are very focused on Bordeaux, and I am indeed looking forward to learn more about the team skills outside the Bordeaux region. I am still new on the team and I have to learn more about the others strengths in order to maximize the team and win the trophy!

How do you evaluate the strength of CBS Wine in the competition?

That’s a good question, I do now know how strong the other team are, but let me use are Wozniacki quote: “We will just focus on our own game”. Last year CBS Wine got a third place in Bordeaux, and I believe that we can do it even better in Ay, Champagne.

What are your expectations of the competing schools? Anyone to look out for?

The French! They have the home advantage, they can do it in their own language and it will hurt their pride to lose to some Tuborg drinkers from the north.

Best wine experience ever?

Ohh.. So many great experiences.. I remember someone served me a blind glass of Quinta do Noval Nacional 2000 on a restaurant in Portugal, that was a great evening, I still have a picture of my tongue after drinking it..

Otherwise a bottle of Champagne and a cowboy toast on the ferry to Sejerø, is somehow a great combination.

What is your personal preference within the world of wine?

During the last 2 years I have become more and more francophile, but in general I have a strong preference for the classic European wine regions… And there is nothing above Champagne.

What advice would you give a young person who really wants to learn more about wine?

Taste, taste – ask, taste – ask – read, and taste some more..

Leave a comment